The United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change aims at stabilizing greenhouse gas (GHG) concentrations and preventing dangerous human interference with the climate system. The Government of Serbia ratified the Convention in 2001.

The United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) was adopted and signed at the Earth Summit in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, in June 1992. The Convention entered into force in March 1994 and by now 195 countries have ratified the Convention forming the Parties to the Convention.
The main objective of the Convention is to stabilize greenhouse gas concentrations “at a level that would prevent dangerous human induced interference with the climate system.” It states that “such a level should be achieved within a time-frame sufficient to allow ecosystems to adapt naturally to climate change, to ensure that food production is not threatened, and to enable economic development to proceed in a sustainable manner.”
Industrialized countries are expected to do the most to cut emissions. They are called Annex I countries and they are obliged, among other things, to report regularly on their climate change policies and measures and submit an annual greenhouse gases inventory. Industrialized nations agreed under the Convention to support climate change efforts and activities in developing countries by providing financial support (system of grants, loans, etc.), including the establishment of the Global Environment Facility (GEF).
The Republic of Serbia belongs to the group of developing countries (Non-Annex I Parties), which report on their actions to mitigate climate change and to adapt to changing climate conditions. Read more about Serbia’s compliance with the reporting requirements of the Convention.
The Government of Serbia compiled its very first national report “The Initial National Communication of Serbia” in 2010 with assistance of the UNDP and GEF funds. Currently, the Second National Communication report as well as the first Biennial Update Report are under preparation.


In addition to UNFCCC, the Kyoto Protocol was adopted in Kyoto, Japan, in December 1997 to improve the implementation of the Convention. The Kyoto Protocol obliges industrialized countries to stabilize greenhouse gas emissions based on the principles of the Convention.


Main difference between the Convention and the Protocol is in the fact that Convention stimulates industrialized countries to reduce GHG emissions, while the Protocol obliges them to do so.


Being a non-Annex I country under the UNFCCC, the Republic of Serbia can use the Clean development Mechanism. In accordance with obligations, National Designated Authority for implementation of CDM under Kyoto Protocol (DNA) has been established. So far, 7 Clean Development Mechanism (CDM) Projects have been registered in Serbia.


Besides that, following development of new options for climate change mitigation under the Convention, Serbia prepared developments under the within the Kyoto Protocol. Moreover, Serbia prepared Nationally Appropriate Mitigation Actions (NAMAs).



More information can be obtained at: newsroom of UNFCCC.